Beco Gemini vs. Boba 3G

by Sara

Boba 3G vs. Beco Gemini

I am determined to be a baby wearer. I started with a Moby and loved it. However, the Moby is limited because it’s stretchy, providing less support as Jonah gets heavier. As I pondered my next carrier (soft-structured [SSC], mei tai, or woven wrap) I happened upon an awesome deal: a new Boba 3G for $60 (retails for $120 normally). I snatched it up!

Then Wednesday I was in my favorite baby consignment store, Stellie Bellies, and saw a Beco Gemini for only $45! I left it there knowing it was a good deal, but I wanted to check the resale value on The Baby Wearer. I hurried back the next day to grab it too. Now, I have a dilemma. Which one do I want to keep? They have very different features, lots of pros and cons to weigh. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Boba 3G

Pros:
Sleep Hood
Adjustable Neck Support
Wide Base
Foot Rests for Toddler Stage
Carries Up To 45 lbs
Pockets
Purse Snaps

Cons:
Wide Base is awkward at this stage for Jonah
Limited to Front and Back Carries

Beco Gemini

Pros:
Adjustable Width Base
Head Rest that Folds Down
Front, Back, Hip, AND Forward Facing Carries
Softer
Safety Locks

Cons:
Carries Up To 35 lbs
Some Wear from Previous Owner
Narrower Base
Girly Print/Colors

Both:
Convert to Infant Mode With No Additional Parts

The two major factors for me are the length of time I can use the Boba vs. the multiple carrying options of the Beco. I know forward facing is controversial, but what isn’t? Many babies really enjoy it. The Boba will last us longer, but will I really still want to carry him at 45 lbs? Of course, the Boba is a little nicer too since I got it new.

By the way, Beco is holding a contest to Design and Win a Beco Baby Carrier!

 The one that goes will not leave my hands in vain. It will be put toward a woven wrap!

Don’t forget. Click this photo, and “like” it on Facebook to help Jonah win a $50 Gift Certificate!

